One Year On

Image

At Todaiji Temple in Nara.

Despire considering myself to be in possession of a mighty fine vocabulary and the ability to be mostly articulate, days like today leave me rather at a loss for words.  One year ago, the world went of kilter – and not just in the figurative sense. As such, I am struggling to find something to say that hasn’t been said already.  I guess this is where pictures come in handy.  So as my own mark of respect on the one year anniversary of the Tohoku earthquake,  here are a couple of pictures from the week following the quake.  During that week I spent most of my daylight and nightime hours walking, thinking, absorbing the unreal events of that day, talking with disbelief and an unforeseen comraderie with my friends, and riding out the aftershocks.

Image

The weather was beautiful that week, and the first plum blossoms were out at a tiny temple I found and have not been able to locate again since.

Leave a Reply

