Happy Hanami Accidents

As I mentioned in my first ever post on this blog: “Cherry Blossom Viewing” (お花見 – ohanami) is a spring-time celebration of the spectacular blossoming of the cherry trees, which sweeps across the country every April,  accompanied by the over-consumption of alcohol under said cherry trees, pressed up against a throng of thousands on blue tarpaulins doing exactly the same thing.”

It’s currently the height of cherry blossom season in Japan.  Facebook pages everywhere are smothered in swathes of pink and white blossoms and to be perfectly honest, I’m getting a little weary. However, it’s a perfect excuse for me to post one of my favourite hanami photos.

At first it just looks like a mess of cherry blossoms, but keep looking.  It’s a bit like those Magic Eye photos.

Image

This was the result of what I believe Lomographers like to call a “happy accident”.  I was shooting double-exposed images up in my old “hometown” of Ina, Nagano and forgot to wind on the film, resulting in this triple-exposed image.

Leave a Reply

