Ryosuke Oonari @Shinjuku Station

Ryo-2

On the West side of Shinjuku Station you can often find yourself being aurally assaulted, even sometimes entertained, by an array of musicians who play opposite the department stores and the designer brand stores to a mixture of passing crowds and ardent fans.

Back in July, I received an email from an former work colleague telling me that an old mutual acquaintance  would be playing at the station one Sunday afternoon and that he was worth going to check out.  I’d come across Ryosuke Oonari a few years before but he had fallen off the planet as far as I could tell, so I was intrigued to see what he was up to. I managed to catch about half an hour of his set and took a couple of photos before running off to wherever I was on my way to.

Ryo’s acoustic set leant towards the rocky end of the spectrum with a dose of fun thrown in.  He has a lovely voice with a great range and reminds me of defspiral‘s vocalist Taka in style.

Ryo has a gig coming up later this month at Otsuka Hearts on November 28th and I’m looking forward to seeing him with a full band behind him.

Check Ryo out on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ooonariryo

Leave a Reply

