Gakido’s Farewell Show @ Shinjuku Blaze, Nov. 30th 2013

Gakidoblog-0264

Yeah, I know.  This one’s a little on the late side, but better that than never, ne?

Gakido were always a band I really enjoyed seeing, writing and shooting live.  While their music on CD had its moments (Liz Riot, Ocyame Pop, Checkmate) I  always thought they were much more enjoyable in the flesh.  A band with three singers, an irrepressible stage energy, and a box of fun for a wardrobe is gonna be hard to see go, and there was not a dry eye in the room by the end of the band’s final show last year.  Even I felt a little lump in my throat and I’m generally hard as a ten tonne monolith when it comes to goodbyes.

I made sure to be there for the final, as I felt it was my duty to shoot and say sayonara to a band who made me laugh out loud on more than one occasion, and who a lot more to give before their disbandment was announced last summer.

So, here are some of my favourite shots from the show.  There is also a photo report up at Rokkyuu you can check out, but this page contains a few images not in that report, including this one of Kahiro, my favourite spangly Arabian pirate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

