twenty one pilots @ Studio Coast, 9th March 2016

2016_03_09_TOP-0209

twenty one pilots @ Studio Coast, Tokyo

I first saw twenty one pilots live at Fuji Rock last year when I was covering their show for Fuji Rock Express (review here: http://fujirockexpress.net/15e/p_1526).  Having previously been a little unsure about the duo, after witnessing their set at the White Stage on a boiling hot afternoon, I was completely and utterly won over to them and have been on something of an adoring attempt to convert others to the band ever since.  This has, on occasion, involved sitting up until 2am in playing the band’s entire collection of YouTube videos with friends, or slyly dropping a song into a set when I DJ.

Needless to say, when I saw Tyler and Josh would be playing Tokyo’s Studio Coast earlier this year, I put my name down to shoot straight away.  It was a 3-song shoot, and much of the first three songs veered between blinding back-lighting and dark-reds, but in between there were some great moments to capture.  I’ll be looking forward to capturing the in action again soon!

You can see my photo report and the live report from James Mallion at this link: http://www.smashingmag.com/en/archives/19260.

 

Leave a Reply

