Con Brio @ Shibuya Duo Music Exchange, Nov. 24th 2016

2016_11_24_conbrio-10

It’s still 2016 in San Francisco, which means I can sneak this post in to 2016 despite it being 2017 here in sunny Tokyo.

This one is special because Con Brio are my band of the year.  I had the pleasure of stumbling across these guys  way back at the beginning of the year and then saw them 3 times in 4 months – twice at Fuji Rock in August and once in Shibuya in November. Consider me very blessed.

I’m slightly hungover and sleepy so forgive my lack of eloquence but… this band. THIS BAND!  Being a guest at shows when I’m writing and shooting means that a lot of the time I have to maintain the 関係者建て前 (kankeisha tatemae), which I like to call “guesting bitch face” – you’re not allowed to look like you’re having any kind of fun because you’re working.  Suffice to say, I can’t keep it together when these guys play – my feet get to tapping, my hips starts a-swinging and suddenly I’m off down in the crowd boogeying.

Con Brio’s shows are musical alchemy.  (I don’t know what that means right now, but it just came into my head.)  Everything comes together to create musical gold – the music, the singing, the on- (and off-) stage antics.   The vibe is shiny and and sparkly and golden and I have got a bad case of gold fever.

You know what, that hangover is starting to throb, so just go and listen to them.

Here —-> Here’s a link.  Then check out my photos from their show below.

Con Brio are playing in San Francisco tonight. I can’t think of a better way to bring in 2017.  I’ll just be over here in Tokyo with my headphones on listening to “Paradise” down in the park with the ducks.

Happy New Year, everyone.

Leave a Reply

